CTMSDL Hosts Successful First Tournament

By Jennifer Posner, CTMSDL
On Saturday, December 18, 2021, the CT Middle School Debate League hosted its first tournament of the 2020-21 year. Two hundred seventy-seven debaters from 19 schools combined into 96 teams and debated the motion:

This House would boycott the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics.Proposition teams prevailed in 58% of the 83 rounds debated. 

Eight Novice teams from Memorial, Amity Middle Schools, Westfield Academy, Irving A. Robbins, and Middlebrook won all three of their rounds.

Five Open Level teams from Middlebrook, St. Luke’s School, Bethel, and Irving A. Robbins won all three of their rounds.

The Irving A. Robbins team of Mashud & Unde won the Final Round on Opposition over the Middlebrook team of Nichols, Onthank & Sarath on Proposition.

Gayathri Sarath from Middlebrook was the highest scoring speaker of the day.

Full results can be found at Results may be accessed on Tabroom under Results for CTMSDLdec18.

Special thanks go to all of our indefatigable coaches, as well as Jennifer Hunt, Everett Rutan, Rachel Zhang, and Evan Streams. Also, seventy-four high school debaters and parents volunteered as judges, making the day possible.

The CTMSDL’s next tournament will be held virtually on February 12, 2022.  The topic will be: The House regrets the rise of space tourism.  Information on definitions and background  may be found here. (Coaches and debaters may choose to use or ignore these articles.  Research should NOT be restricted to these articles.)