CTMSDL Hosts Winter Tournament

First place finishers from Irving Robbins Middle School in Farmington

By Jennifer Posner, CTMSDL

On February 11, 2023, 223 debaters from 17 Middle Schools combined into 37 Novice and 46 Open Level teams to debate the motion:

This House would give low-income parents vouchers to send their children to private schools.

Proposition prevailed in 50.8% of the rounds.

The Irving A. Robbins Middle School team of Rock & Jaladurgam & Shenoy won the final round on Proposition over the Middlebrook team of Ren & Durden & Jaiswal.

Kriti Jaladurgam from Irving A. Robbins Middle School was the top Open level speaker.

Eight teams from Irving A. Robbins, Middlebrook, and Bethel Middle Schools won all three of their Open level rounds. Five Novice Level teams from Smith, Timothy Edwards, and Stamford area Middle Schools won all three of their rounds.

Full results can be found on Tabroom. As always, coaches and debaters with Tabroom accounts linked to their schools may access ballots after logging in.

Thank you to the 54 people who volunteered as judges!

Huge thanks go to the Timothy Edwards team of John Smith-Horn and their IT staff. Thanks also to Jennifer Hunt, Bruce Johnson, Rachel Zhang, Aidan Shea, Arya Patel, and Mike Panoli. Thank you coaches and parents!

Our next tournament will be the CTMSDL Championship tournament on April 1 at a location TBD. The motion will be announced very soon.

Contact Jennifer Posner  (jendotposneratctmsdebatedotorg)   with any questions, concerns or suggestions.