Results of March Debate Tournaments

Four hundred twenty-eight debaters from thirty-eight schools attended the March 1st Connecticut Debate Association tournaments at Darien, Guilford and Pomperaug High Schools. Thanks to coaches Dennis Cummings, Gianna D’Ambrusca and Margaret Hartshorn for their hospitality.

The topic was:

Resolved: Rich countries should compensate poor countries adversely affected by climate change.

The final round at Darien was won by the Greenwich/Stamford combined team of Olivia Scharfman and Sam Aldershof on the Negative over the Wilton team of Daniel Bulpitt and Maya Seshan on the Affirmative.

The final round at Guilford was won by the East Catholic team of Jonathan Ockert and Cole Tamburri on Affirmative over the ESUMS team of Newlyn Joseph and Odia Kane on the Negative.

The final round at Pomperaug was won by the Simsbury team of Matthew Shaw and Kevin Gyurco on Affirmative over the Joel Barlow team of Will Tower and Harrison Von Dwingelo on Negative.
Congratulations to all our trophy winners and 3-0 teams.

You may view or download the complete January Results, as well as the resolution package at

Our next tournament is our State Finals on March 22 at Wilton High School. This tournament is only open to debaters who have qualified at one of the earlier tournaments, but observers are welcome. The invitation will go out on March 10 and can be found on our website.
To learn more about debating in Connecticut, visit