Commissioner Pryor Honors Schools of Distinction

Left to right: Richard Shellman, Principal of Vinal Technical High School; Stefan Pryor, Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Education, Dr. Nivea L. Torres, Connecticut Technical High School System Superintendent; and David Telesca, Principal of Kaynor Technical High School

(HARTFORD, CT)—Commissioner of Education Stefan Pryor today recognized the Schools of Distinction from
across the state, and the Department also announced a new competitive grant opportunity for those schools to
share information on what works best for turning around school performance.

The second annual Schools of Distinction Recognition Breakfast honored 73 schools in three categories: those
with the highest overall student performance, those whose students made the most progress, and those with
the highest performing subgroups of students, such as students living in poverty, black and Hispanic students, students who are learning English, and students with disabilities.

“These schools honored today show us that great things are possible with the right mix of innovation, resources, and a belief in doing what’s right for our children,” Governor Dannel P. Malloy said. “This distinction is earned through the grit, talent, and passion of the schools’ teachers and leaders. We are proud of them for their accomplishments and look forward to seeing such successes replicated for students across the state.”