Dr. Karissa Niehoff Wins Neag School’s Highest Alumni Award

The University of Connecticut’s Neag School of Education held its annual alumni awards celebration at its Storrs campus on Saturday, March 19, 2016. Among the seven outstanding Neag School graduates who were recognized at the event was CAS Executive Director Dr. Karissa Niehoff, who won the “Distinguished Alumni Award.” The most prestigious of the alumni honors, the “Distinguished Alumni Award” is given annually to a graduate who has made a significant impact on education, has a national reputation for her/his work and has been an inspiration to other professionals. In her award introduction, Dr. Niehoff was described as a “consistently energetic, highly engaged and always positive leader in education.”

The video below captures Dr. Niehoff’s award presentation and acceptance remarks.

Among this year’s other award recipients were:

  • Gayle Allen-Greene – Executive Principal, Bulkeley High School and Culinary Arts Academy at Weaver, Hartford
  • Dr. Scott R. McCarthy – Program Director of Special Education and Student Services, Darien Public Schools
  • Dr. Salvatore F. Menzo – Superintendent of Schools, Wallingford Public Schools
  • Jeffrey A. Spivey – Challenge and Enrichment Program Teacher, Coventry Public Schools

Click here to read about all of the 2016 award winners.