School of the Year

General InformationAward Recipients
School of the Year Award General Information
Nominations may be made by any present or former member of the school staff or by district central office personnel

To give public recognition in Connecticut and nationally to an outstanding CAS member school that represents the best in the profession.

The school chosen will receive recognition in the media, in CAS publications and at a CAS sponsored ceremony in their community.

The following criteria will be used to determine the recipient of this award.

1. The school must be a member of CAS and exhibit the following “Best Practices.”

  • Evidence of a safe and healthy school environment
  • Evidence that the school involves parents and the community in supporting student learning and healthy development
  • Student services that go beyond those that are part of a typical school, i.e. clubs, activities, support services, extra help for those who need it
  • Evidence that the school’s educational programs are consistently being reviewed and improved.
  • A researched based curriculum with appropriate assessment grounded in standards
  • Instructional methods and strategies designed to prepare students to meet high standards
  • Teaming practices that drive instruction
  • Personalization of the school environment
  • Collaborative leadership and professional learning communities

2. Previous winners may not apply for a period of five years and must clearly show significant change from the previous application. Finalists (schools receiving site visits) must wait until the third school year following the visit before re-applying. Schools not selected as finalists are welcome to re-apply at any time.
3. Each of the nine criteria listed above must be individually addressed in narrative form. The total response must not exceed 10 pages (12 point font/single spaced).
4. A copy of the strategic school profile must accompany the application (not included in the ten page application maximum).
5. A copy of the student/parent handbook must also accompany the application (not counted in the ten page application maximum)
6. The application will be judged solely on the printed application and requested documents. Please do not reference or send additional materials.

Elementary Level
Year School City/Town Principal at Time of Award
2016-17 Deans Mill School Stonington Jennifer McCurdy
2015-16 Guilford Lakes Elementary School Guilford Jill Hale
2014-15 Connecticut Academy of International Studies Danbury Dr. Helena Nitwoski
2013-14 Alcott Elementary School Wolcott Holly Wrenn
2012-13 Naubuc School Glastonbury Michael Litke
2011-12 Center School Old Lyme Chris Pomroy
2011-12 Thomas Hooker Elementary School Meriden James Quinn
2010-11 Ivy Drive School Bristol RoseAnn O’Brien-Vojtek
2009-10 J.Milton Jeffrey Elementary School Madison Mona Goodman
2008-09 Elmer Thienes Mary Hall Elementary School Marlborough Loraine Giannini
Middle Level
Year School City/Town Principal at Time of Award
2016-17 Bethel Middle School Bethel Derek Muharem
2015-16 Wamogo Middle School Regional School District #6 Jody Lambert
2014-15 New Fairfield Middle School New Fairfield Christine Baldelli
2013-14 Sage Park Middle School Windsor Locks Paul Cavaliere, Jr.
2012-13 East Lyme Middle School Niantic Dr. Judith DeLeeuw
2010-11 Chippens Hill Middle School Bristol Catherine Carbone
Granby Memorial Middle School Granby Paul Osypuk
2009-10 John Winthrop Middle School Deep River David Russell
2008-09 Canton Middle School Canton Joseph Scheideler