Three Schools Receive Recognition for Climate Practices

The Connecticut Association of Schools recently recognized three schools for their exemplary school climate practices. Congratulations to:

  • George Hersey Robertson Elementary School, Coventry Connecticut – Ms. Jennifer DeRagon, Principal
  • Ellen P. Hubbell School, Bristol Connecticut – Mrs. Kristine DeLeo, Principal
  • Greene-Hills School, Bristol Connecticut – Mr. Scott Gaudet, Principal

The CLI is proud to certify that each of the three schools has demonstrated exemplary school climate practices. As part of the application process, each school completed a self-assessment and then hosted a visiting team of current and retired administrators who certified the assessment information by reviewing the unique climate programs and experiencing the school culture first-hand. The visiting team met with building administrators, Central Office administrators, faculty, staff, students, and community members including members of the PTA/PTO’s.  

At each school, the visiting team heard an overwhelming and enthusiastic affirmation from all constituent groups about how their school fostered a safe, nurturing, and caring environment where high academic expectations, student choice and positive climate practices resulted in outstanding student performance. From the moment the visiting team members walked into each of the three schools they could: see artifacts throughout the schools that included student work and positive messages that build friendships, connections, and relationships; feel the welcoming warmth, sense of belonging, and strong community; and hear the sounds of happy children and adults actively engaged and working collaboratively with each other.

These three schools are excellent models of an exemplary safe and positive school climate and culture. Again, CONGRATULATIONS to George Hersey Robertson Elementary School, Ellen P. Hubbell School, and Green-Hills School for receiving this CAS certification and achieving this distinguished recognition!

This special recognition and certification is open to all CAS member schools.  Click here for more information.

By Dr. RoseAnne O’Brien Vojtek, Assistant Executive Director